The historic village that once belonged to Cambridge University and is known for its thatched cottages
The small village of Gamlingay, on the border between Cambridgeshire and Bedfordshire, has a fascinating history.
The village has proven popular with home buyers in recent years and is truly an ancient village mentioned in the Doomsday Book of 1086.
There has been a settlement in the village since the Bronze Age, but today Gamlingay is known for its thatched-roof huts and is a popular spot with commuters.
READ MORE: CambridgeshireLive property news
The village is one of five places in Cambridgeshire where house prices have soared in 2020 despite the pandemic.
The value of property in Gamlingay and the surrounding villages rose four percent in 2020, with the average price here rising by £ 12,500 to £ 367,500 in 2020.
A village owned by the Universities of Cambridge and Oxford
Gamlingay has been inhabited for many centuries and even Neolithic stone tools have been found there.
During his time the village was owned by colleges from the Universities of Cambridge and Oxford, and had been in almost continuous succession since 1599.
The village layout was not changed after a devastating fire in 1600, however, Merton College, Oxford made changes in the late Middle Ages to establish Merton Manor Farm.
It was then owned by the Cambridge Downing and Clare Colleges, with the village schoolhouse still visible on the 1848 building.
The village has been served by many pubs over the years. It is said that there were more than 50 operating bus routes to London at one time. Rumor has it that the highwayman Dick Turpin once rode through Gamlingay on a trip north.
One of these historic pubs has become a restaurant and two are still in operation.
The Hardwicke Arms, now an Indian restaurant, dates back to the 19th century, although the original construction is likely from the 18th century.
In the Middle Ages, the square in front of the pub was a marketplace and a gathering point for hunting. The pub’s name was a dedication to the Earls of Hardwicke who once lived at nearby Wimpole Hall.
Gamlingay’s Church is the Parish Church of St. Mary the Virgin, a beautiful Grade II listed building that is part of the Diocese of Ely.
Most of the building dates from the 13th century, with some alterations being made in the 14th and 15th centuries. However, there was a church in the parish long before that, i.e. before 1120.
The church is the only listed building in the village, however there are 72 listed buildings in the village, from stables to barns, mansions and even an iconic red telephone box.
The village has a primary school which joined the Cam Academy Trust in April 2016 to provide education for all primary school ages.
There is no secondary school, however, so many students attend secondary schools outside of the village and many later attend Comberton Village College, another member of the Cam Academy Trust.
Would you like more messages straight to your inbox? Sign up here for our daily newsletter.